ARM and x86

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

ARM and x86

Hello, I can't seem to be able to install this awesome game on my device which is currently x86-based - "This version is not compatible with your device" and I assume this is for ARM only, would it be possible for it to be available for x86 as well? I'd be deeply obliged!

What type of device is it? I know ARM is a processor, but what is it in?

Comment

Hello Travis! thank you for your quick response! As far as I know, android apps are made to run on either arm or x86. so both apps should be added on google play and based on cpu architecture the "correct" app downloads and installs. It seems that currently Eternium is only compatible with arm cpu? I'm not a developer but I think the libraries differ.

Comment

Originally posted by ྿༻Travis༺྿ (Support Mgr.) View Post
        What type of device is it?
        Brand and model, please.

Comment

I'm running linux and all emulators/projects(fe:genymotion,androidos,anbox,shashlik,et c) only support x86 - no arm support unfortunately. There's a ton of games available for x86 now but there's nothing like Eternium

Comment

Found this for genymotion (google search: "genymotion with arm apps") - you need to manually get the ARM translator package, or something like that. Sorry I don't use it myself, so don't really know - so the usual "use at your own risk" warning apply:
            http://jeremywininger.blogspot.com/2...anslation.html

There might be similar translation packages for the other emulators you mentioned.

Don't know much about how the game's developed, but getting a x86 version would mean a cross/re-compile of the existing source on the x86 platform. As far as I am aware, the Marmalade SDK does support x86, but I cannot guess as to the difficult/complexity for adding such a port...

Edit: